The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally. What are the advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world?

As the travel industry is thronging, English is getting to be the most widely spoken language all over the planet to the extent that it has led the world to believe that it would remain the sole language that would be used everywhere. This essay will throw light on its pros as well as its con.

It is essential to realize that, majority of the countries are keen to welcome people all over the world to witness their beautiful land and experience their rich culture. Due to the very fact, many human beings from all walks of life spend money to soak it all in. As a result, there remains a single link that enables the tourists to connect in the form of the English language, which assists them in communicating their thoughts openly. Furthermore, this widely spoken language sometimes comes in handy while talking to one another.

On the flip side, there is a definite disadvantage to this norm. Though English is rapidly becoming the most acceptable language all over the world, it is also pulling people away from their mother tongue. The fact of the matter is that as a language, for many, English is a sign of status symbol whereby it is hard to accept that if an individual is not well-versed in the said language, they are not worth interacting.

English is going to play a significant role in tourism for a long time to come; meanwhile, it is also advisable to not get detached from one’s own mother tongue.