The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think that this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of having one language in the world?

Tourism being one of the contributors has helped English emerged as the most important language in the world. This phenomenon has made some people think that English will become only language spoken internationally. Having a single language everywhere meaning easy communication in travelling, business and day-to-day life but it has some drawbacks that cannot be overlooked.

On one hand, one language certainly has benefits that will not just result in easier interactions but also result into booming economies. The most prominent outcome could be in doing business. In other words, there is no hassle in doing business if everyone speaks common tongue; exchanging ideas or getting a help is not a frustrating job anymore. Another positive aspect one language can have is unity among people, this is not bound to countries only. Better understanding of each other will have less conflicts between countries and the world can become much more peaceful. Also, students will face no cultural shock when they move to abroad for studies and can easily adapt the local culture. So students can focus and study properly.

On the other hand, there are consequences of having one language. Firstly, people will put less emphasis on learning the native language because it may not be so useful in future which can abolish the language within next two generations and lost of language is generally lost of the culture too. Secondly, many scriptures in areas of science, mathematics, literature, history around the globe are written in different languages. This treasure will be forgotten if no one can interpret them. The heritage of thousands of years will be nonexistent.

In conclusion, there are benefits of having one language internationally, however, the drawbacks of losing native languages, heritage and culture is very high price to pay.