The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think that this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of having one language in the world?

Tourism being one of the major contributors that helped English emerge as the most important language in the world. This phenomenon has made some people think that English might become the only language spoken internationally. Using a single language everywhere helps in easy communication while traveling, business and day-to-day life but it also has some drawbacks that cannot be overlooked.

On one hand, one language certainly has benefits that will not only result in easier interactions but also result into booming economies. The most prominent outcome could be in doing business. In other words, there is no hassle in doing business if everyone speaks common tongue; exchanging ideas or getting a help will not be a frustrating job anymore. Another positive aspect using only one language can have is unity among people, which is not bound to just countries but the entire world. Better understanding of each other will have less conflicts between countries and the world can become much more peaceful. Also, students will face no cultural shock when they move abroad for studies or job opportunities and can easily adapt to the local culture. So students can focus, study properly, engage with their professors better and also feel at home.

On the other hand, there are consequences of using only one language. Firstly, people will put minimum emphasis on learning the native language because it may not be so useful in the future. This can abolish the language within the next two generations and lost of language is generally lost of the culture too. Secondly, many scriptures in areas of science, mathematics, literature, history around the globe are written in different languages. This treasure will be forgotten if no one can interpret them. The heritage of thousands of years will be nonexistent.

In conclusion, while there are a huge number of benefits of using only one language internationally, the drawbacks of losing native languages, heritage and culture is very a high price to pay.