In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centers or malls to do their shopping.

Is this positive or negative development?

Give reasons for your answers and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The scene of shopping has been changing recently with the surge in many shopping malls opening in the cities. The direct implication of this scenario is the closing down of many local shops. The rise is being criticized because shutting down of local businesses; however, it is not as bad as it looks because going to shopping centre has more benefits for consumers and businessmen both.

Firstly, the malls give a hassle free buying experience, because every shop is under one roof. They also have designated parking area, restaurants, cinemas, entertainment section and other facilities like washrooms which are not easily available in local market. So basically, a mall caters every member of the family and due to these reasons customers have preferred to go to malls. For an instance, after working hard for a week, I visit the mall to purchase household items, groceries, clothes and once done, I eat at a restaurant of my choice and can directly go for a movie. Malls gives much more relaxing shopping experience than any other establishments.

Though, this has affected the local businesses around the globe, it is not a long term effect which will put many out of employment. A local shopkeeper can always acquire or rent a space in mall and start the business there. I had witnessed a local vegetable vendor’s business flourishing after she started a small cart of organic vegetables in a mall. The range of customers coming to mall liked the variety of products and they were willing to pay the amount which locals were not ready. Likewise, the mall culture can be completely utilized to by local shops if one knows to a few skills of business and marketing.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that opening of shopping malls and shopping centers does not have flagrant influence on local shops. Even though they are out of business for a while, right applications knowledge and help can make them a part of shopping mall and the local shops again start selling the products to their customers.