Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of genetic engineering

Nowadays, there are a few scientific developments in health and medication. One of the most important aspects of these developments is genetic engineering which results to a variety of cures and medical improvements. It is believed that genetic engineering has some pros and cons, both sides will be discussed.

There are some persuasive arguments in favor of genetic engineering, which is the practice of manipulating genes of organism. Firstly, it is beneficial in cultivating since there are some genetically modified crops that can grew much faster. Besides, inherited diseases would no longer exist and also it gives the patients the chance of replacement in body parts. In addition, genetic engineering makes it possible to modify and change the genes before a baby is born. Moreover, some drugs and vaccinations are produced by genetic engineering and it opens the doors to new cures and treatments for unknown diseases such as cancer.

On the other hand, there are some strong arguments against the genetic engineering. The most important drawback is that it is time and money consuming, so it should be supported by the government and should be paid by the taxes. Some people believe that this money can be used in other issues such as building new state hospitals to escalate the treatment procedure. Furthermore, religious people argue that manipulating genes is against the moral and should be stopped by the government.

To conclude, although genetic engineering makes some improvements in medical science which is beneficial for the humans, it is still new and need more effort to be accepted among people.