Do the advantages of living on campus outweigh the disadvantages?

The issue that whether students should live on the university’s sites or not remains a source of controversy. In reality, although it contains both pros and cons, I believe that the benefits are still dominant.

On one hand, it cannot be denied that students virtually confront with some troubles of living in dorms. Firstly, there are a flood of rules setting by college managers and the students have to follow that rules. For instance, many dorms restrict cooking in campus’s areas, thus, students must go out and waste more money than do culinary work themselves. Secondly, students have less chances to gain practical experience and learn from outside areas. If they live in a downtown or a traditional village, they may be exposed to the local cultures and able to broaden their knowledge about custom and identity value.

On the other end of the spectrum, I am still of my opinion that the positive sides of living on campus outweigh the negative ones. Initially, according to thousands of reports worldwide, the crime rate around campus is considerably lower than others of urban areas, therefore they are almost not be threaten and more likely to focus on their studies. Moreover, attending classes saves them a lot of time and money. For example, if a student lives in a rural area, he should wake up earlier and spend more time on commuting by public transportation to the university. Last but not least, students are directly under universities’ management resulting in the fact that their parents could feel secure about their childen and contact them if needed with ease.

In conclusion, I am generally in favor of living on campus due to its benefits. However, I suppose that some inadequate rules should be amended to be more comfortable and convenient for students.