Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Only people who earn a lot of money are successful.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer. You should write at least 250 words.

Today globalization is changing the world, and traveling has become cheaper than before. As its direct result, tourism industries are growing rapidly in many countries which has both positive and negative aspects; however, both sides will be discussed in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, the tourism industry has benefited not just the travelers but also many other sectors like hotels, restaurants, travel and tour companies, and so on. For instance, huge tourism activity around Sydney Opera house has benefited thousands of local businesses. Moreover, such a trend is very likely to promote employment opportunities. In Nepal, for instance, the tourism industry has covered a significant portion of total employment. This trend is extremely crucial as it promotes the overall development of the country.

The same industry, on the other hand, has some drawbacks. Firstly, growth in tourism means an increase in the number of activities, and more activity means more pollution. To illustrate, there are piles of junk food plastics, and bottles floating over Sydney harbor because of high tourist activities. Another worrying point to note is, some of the natural heritage and resources are deteriorating as a result of such activity. Tourists love to visit such places resulting in more locals shifting there to promote their business. Hence, natural resources are in chaos.

In conclusion, I think the advantages of tourism activity outweigh the disadvantages because it promotes employment to the locals and the growth of other related sectors. Although, it could lead to pollution and deterioration of natural resources, controlling activities like strong rules and emphasizing cleaning activities can help minimize the problems.