Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Grades (marks) encourage students to learn. Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Grades are given by the education institutions to their students in order to evaluate the performance and assess the skills of that certain level. Students complain that their learning curve dropping down due to undue stress of grades. I also agree with the statement.

Grades have irrational perception to range the child performance. The most discouraging reason to purge the interest of learning in students is to evaluate their entire year in only 3 hours and by given 5 or 10 questions out of whole book contains 500 pages approx. How can you assess the child ability in less than one day what is being learnt throughout the year. This depriving method force a child to learn the topics that are likely to be appeared in the final exams and not what they actually like to learn. According to the survey, 55% of the student population are demotivated by final grades. Resultantly, those students who are good at memorization earn good marks and those who don't suffer from receiving good grades. Hence, losing their interest to learn more eventually weeded out.

Grades are seem to be very discouraging method. As you cannot judge the whole book by its cover, likewise, annual assessments are not sufficient to comprehend the students learning ability. A radical change is much required to provide the equal opportunity to every student to prove their skills.