Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Grades (marks) encourage students to learn. Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Both students and parents are so concerned about grades and efforts are to get better grades in each exam. Do the grades motivate students to learn better? I believe that grades are one of the key encouragements to read ferociously and learn the subjects for performing well in exams.

Educationist believes that grade system is essential to develop competitiveness, seriousness and motivation etc. in pupils. In student life, there might not be other better way to assess the knowledge level of each student. In a class, no of students are taught and some do hard-work than others so it become essential to acknowledge those who perform better in exams and get good grades. This not only inculcates the feeling of competition but also makes them aware about the importance of knowledge. Furthermore, following the grading system, even higher education gives priority to students who consistently receive good marks. For example, my friend who scored better marks in all subjects in 12th standards got admission in Oxford University, however, I was not considered.

Another important reason is that the students who do not study enough and consequently score low marks are not promoted to higher class. This becomes the embarrassment for few and triggers the habit of continuous learning and score good marks. For instance, In India, central board conduce the 10th and 12th level exam and results are published by the board and students who score less than defined limit are not permitted to higher class in any schools.

To conclude, some people are against the grades system as it gives stress to students to perform well but what else could be better way to judge the students each year on same standards. In my view, this grading system motivates everyone to learn hard and do better than others in exams.