Police in some countries like in England don’t carry guns. Some do not approve of this because they think that police with guns gives them security. Others think that police carrying guns decreases crimes. What is your opinion?

In view of increasing the crimes in most countries, debate has started whether police should carry the weapons or not. Some people do not advocate this idea as these arms overprotect the police whereas other people believe that presence of such items with police deter the crimes. I believe that police should be fully equipped to handle any kind of situation.

People who believe that carrying guns are not necessary for police have some valid points. First of all, use of arms makes the situation worse in most of the cases and ordinary situation which could have handled in simpler way, got complicated owing to the use of arms, resulted, loss of life and social unrest. For example, recent incidents where police shoot the innocent black people for delinquencies led to nationwide protest over killing. Secondly, carrying guns implicitly deliver the message that not only these are required for being safe but also exhibit the face of society and individuals follow this message and start keeping the small pistols for personal security which raise the incidents in the society. Finally, possessing the weapons gives authority to police to use at their discretion. Especially in U.S, it was found that police used the weapons considering as effective medium to resolve the conflict and other approaches were discarded.

However, increasing violence clearly make the case for police to carry the weapons as criminals have advanced resources and do not hesitate to use in public and in order for police to retaliate in the same way to handle the situation and protect the people. For instance, in African countries, ammunitions are easily available in black market and criminals use it for different kinds of offence. Furthermore, terrorism is on its peak and deadly terrorist attacks are taking place in the world, therefore, police must be equipped and trained to respond emergency situation.

To conclude, certainly it is not good for anyone to have weapons in civilized society but crime related situation has worsened and increasing terrorism add the case for police to carry guns and protect people in the best possible manner.