Police in some countries like in England don’t carry guns. Some do not approve of this because they think that police with guns gives them security. Others think that police carrying guns decreases crimes. What is your opinion?

In view of increasing the crimes in most countries, debate has started whether police should carry the weapons or not. Some people do not advocate this idea as these guns overprotect the police whereas other people believe that presence of guns with police deter the crimes. I believe that police should be fully equipped to handle any kind of situation.

People who believe that carrying guns are not necessary for police have some valid points. First of all, use of weapons makes the situation worse in most of the cases. It has been observed that ordinary situation which could have handled in simpler way, got complicated owing to the use of guns. Consequently, there were loss of life and social unrest. For example, recent incidents where police shoot the innocent black people for delinquencies which led nationwide protest over killing. Secondly, police carrying guns implicitly deliver the message that guns are required for being safe. Some follow this message and start keeping the guns for personal use which raise the crime in society. Finally, possessing the weapons gives authority to police to use it at their discretion. Especially in U.S, it was found that police used the weapons considering as last medium to resolve the conflict and other approaches were discarded.

However, increasing crimes clearly make the case for police to carry the weapon. Nowadays, criminals have advanced weapons and do not hesitate to use in public. It is required for police to retaliate in the same way to handle the situation and protect the people. For instance, in African countries, weapons are easily available in black market and criminals use it for different kinds of crime. Furthermore, terrorism is on its peak and deadly terrorist attacks are taking place in the world. For counter terrorism, police must be equipped and trained to respond the emergency situation.

To conclude, certainly it is not good for anyone to have weapons in civilized society but situation has worsened and increasing crimes and terrorism drives police to carry guns and protect people in best possible manner.