Police in some countries like in England don’t carry guns. Some do not approve of this because they think that police with guns gives them security. Others think that police carrying guns decreases crimes. What is your opinion?

In various countries, laws differ especially in terms of safety and security. there are countries that do not allow their policemen to carry ammunition in public. Whilst, to other places, security forces carry their firearms as mandated by their senior officer if only during working hours.

This issue is becoming a dilemma because of some groups speculates that oftentimes, a person that carries a gun is dangerous. Sometimes, the problem is with the policemen that do not follow the rules. they are not just putting their self in danger but also the people in the surrounding. Furthermore, they feel self-entitled because of what they are carrying that leads people to become afraid of them. On the other hand, since protection of humanity is the utmost priority, it is a must that officers should have something that will keep them safe especially if there is a sudden crime in an area and the police officer needs to respond immediately. Thus, carrying a gun with them during working hours is a must.

In my opinion, as long as the policemen are at work, for instance, field work or when they are in an area for checkpoint and escorting a high official, having a gun with them will make the place secure and people with bad intentions will be afraid to execute their evil plans. However, there should always be limitations and as a responsible person, the use of a gun should only apply to circumstances wherein they need to protect someone or should only be used for self-defense.

To recapitulate, our policemen are our knight in shining armor in this modern era. they must be responsible enough to know when to carry a gun and most essentially when is the right moment to use it.