Do you think extreme sports like skiing, water rafting etc. are dangerous and should be prohibited?

There are many sporting activities one can engage in, but the question is what are the benefits and danger of such sports. Many people have proposed that extreme sports such as skiing and water rafting should be banned because of the risks associated with them. In my opinion such sports should not be allowed to go on in this present day society because of the inherent danger to health associated with them. And also they promote violence in the society especially among children.

One of the disadvantages of the sports such as skiing is that there is lot of risk of falling from a height owing to the height at which this sport is practiced. News has shown several accidents as result of this sport; sometime it has led to fatality or even death. Sport or excise should be to the benefit of the human health and not detrimental to ones’ health. For instance, my friend Jim, who used to represent my community in this sport competition, is no longer active today because of the injury he sustained during this activity.

Furthermore, skiing and water rafting promotes violence among children. Children are easily influenced by what they see or watch. They tend to demonstrate these sports in their daily lives after watching them and as such become violent in their behaviour with the mindset that this is a normal life. For example, my uncle's son Uche who used to watch wrestling programm always uses his younger sister to demonstrate what he saw in the sport. Prohibiting these sports will save the society from a lot of troubles.

In conclusion, although some people enjoy extreme sports, I strongly believe that they should be banned because they are great danger to our health and also they have contributed negatively to children's violent attitude.