Some organizations integrate employees in decision making process of their goods and services. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this.

Most Organisations involve their workers in some crucial decisions of the company such as planning of new project or when they are about to introduce new products to the market. I think that such practice has huge advantages of reducing unnecessary mistakes and cost saving to the company’s daily operation. Though there is fear of losing company’s valuable information through this, I believe that the merit outweighs the demerit.

One of the advantages of carrying shop-floor workers along in any key decision of the company is that it helps the organisation to utilize the wealth of experiences of these staffs. This is because most of these workers have worked in similar organisation in past and have faced similar situations. So consulting them in such cases will put the company ahead of their competitors. For example, when my company wanted to start a new project which we have not done before, we needed to hire another manager with experience in this project to handle the work, but when we discovered that one of our staffs has worked in similar project, my managers were happy enough to involve him in the planning of the work. This saved the company a lot of time and money.

On the other hand, there are some decisions which an organisation considers classified and are not supposed to be share with all staffs because of the risk of exposing them. In such cases the company may not need to consult the staffs before making or implementing such decisions. For instance, Coca Cola Company lost part of her market to Pepsi because one of their key staffs had privy information of their formulas and licked it to their competitor Pepsi.

In conclusion, there are both advantages and disadvantages in integrating workers in decision making of a company. However I believe that the advantages are more and companies stand to benefit a lot from this.