What do you think is the most important invention for the past 100 years,antibiotics, airplane, or computers? And why?

Our society has witnessed tremendous inventions in different sectors such as health, air transportation and information technology for past century. While most people have argued that the most appealing inventions so far are the discovery of airplane and computers which has made transportation and communication across the globe easy. However, in my view, the discovery and improvements of antibiotics is the most important because health is wealth and without combating various epidemics in the society no one would have been alive to invent anything.

On the one hand, inventions of airplane and computers have really made transportation and communications across the world easier. Unlike before, it was difficult to travel from one country to another and also communication from one country to another was nearly impossible. The inventions of computers have really made it possible to transact business easily without travelling. Also airplane has helped in globalising the world since one can visit any part of the world now without restrictions. This is just one side of the argument.

On the other hand, our society has faced a lot of outbreaks which were capable of wiping off humans in the world if not by the intervention of the improved antibiotics. For example, malaria was a serious pandemic in the world especially in the African continent. WHO reported that malaria was killing 10 children out of every 100 children born in Africa until the invention of anti-malaria drugs by research centers and international health organisations. Also in the last decade, there was an Ebola outbreak worldwide, which was capable of killing everybody in the world and this was combated by the discovery of strong antibiotics. If people were not alive they would not have invented any of these new ideas in airplane and computer which we are celebrating today.

In conclusion, the invention of computers and airplane has really contributed to the economic growth of our society, but I believe that the discoveries of antibiotics are the key to all these inventions because they have helped in sustaining lives.