Do you think formal written assessments in today's world to assess students’ performance is effective or not? Discuss your viewpoint on this and support your answer with examples.

There are various methods of assessing students' performance in schools these days. Most people believe that assessing students with written tests is the only effective way to determine their skills and knowledge while others have argued that there are other more effective methods such as practical assessment. In my opinion, I think that written assessments is important and effective. This is because written assessment such essay helps student to develop good communicative skills and organisational skills.

When students are tested with an essay writing, they will be forced to develop the ability to write and communicate to others which are highly sorted after in the labour market. Every job role requires basic communication be effective in it.So when students learn these skills at college via written assessment it help them a lot to function well in the society.To illustrate this,when you look at any job advertisement,the first requirement of the job role is always the ability to communicate properly in English or any major language.

Furthermore,written assessments help students in developing organisational and time management skills because for every assessment there is always a limited time to complete the task. So when they are trained and evaluated under this condition it will help them in their future career.

In conclusion, subjecting students to formal written assessment is the best way to assess their communicative and time management skills which are very important in the real world.I strongly recommend that every school should adopt this method of test in order to graduate students that can express their opinions in the industrial sectors.