In this highly competitive era, for the survival and growth of the organizations, many companies are including employees in the critical decision-making process of their goods and services. Many proponents are debating over the advantages of this phenomena, however, other experts hold opposite view stating that given more power and rights to employees can have detrimental effects. In this article, we will discuss both the positive aspects and negative impacts of this latest corporate trend.

To begin with, there are numerous benefits of engaging employees in the decision making of goods and services, first, they are in tight touch with the market and consumers, so their feedbacks on improving product and pricing can be a game changer for capturing the larger market share. Moreover, they share practical suggestions based on their ground experience. For Instance, our company was able to reduce significant cost on manufacturing process by embedding production related feedbacks from the shop floor supervisors and workers. Furthermore, employees feel a sense of ownership and motivated by including them in decision-making processes pertaining to critical policies for goods and services.

On the other hand, there is a negligible downside of over-involvement of employees in the decision-making process, sometimes they tend to make policies which are biased and more suitable to them, this situation has severe effects and has a serious impact on the growth of an organization. Additionally, feedbacks and suggestions from everyone can create mess and chaos in the company.

In conclusion, from the above examples, it is evident that if integrate employees in decision making along with right touch and rich experience of senior management, can achieve wonders for the organizations and can be proved to be boon, otherwise can turn in to ban.