Recently, proponents are debating over the effectiveness of requirement of written assessments to assess students’ performance in the educational institutes. Many are arguing that written exams will lead to the holistic development of the students, however, others have opposite view stating that rather than written assignments and assessment academia should give more emphasis on practical learning. In this article, I will lay my opinion after analyzing both sides.

To begin with, there are numerous benefits of promoting written forms as assessment, first, it forces the student to think about the given subject which has profound impacts on the cognitive development of their brains. For instance, a recent study published in this area has revealed some shocking results focusing on important of writing before learning the new topics. Moreover, this skills will be useful to students in their professional life as employers give significant importance on communication skills which required writing contents on projects.

On the other hand, if the more weight is given to only writing activities, students tend to spend more time on the written activity which is expected to make them mundane and will have lesser value addition in their learning. For example, during my school days, certain scientific subjects were easily comprehensible when done practically rather than writing a thesis or essay about it.

In conclusion, from the above examples, it is evident that government and educational experts should keep all round growth of students in mind, consider and adopt a balanced approach which should include practical and written assessment in their educational policies.