n the 21st century, an education system worldwide has witnessed the massive transformation. One of them is the way examinations are being conducted in academic institutions, where the majority of time exam is in the formal written format. Proponents are debating over these phenomena, many are praising these developments, whilst, others have opposite views arguing that those changes and developments in the current education systems are still not giving positive outcomes. In this article, I will analyze both sides before deriving an appropriate conclusion.

To begin with, there are enormous advantages of written examinations over a practical once. First, many jobs in the current era require written skills, by the habit of writing during their study, these type of exams can prepare them for lucrative career options. For instance, Jobs like a journalist and a newspaper editor requires great knowledge about writing, hence this skill will be of the paramount importance in such cases.

On the other hand, written exams have negligible downsides, it promotes and instills rote learning, wherein by getting goods grades, in theory, they become eligible for getting most jobs. Later they face difficulties in real life professional environment. For example, certain subjects like mechanical engineering required a practical approach to comprehend and perceive subject better.

In conclusion, from the above example, it is evident that for holistic and cognitive development of students, an education system should adopt a balanced approach to assess knowledge and skill of future aspirant.