In education system, assessment through formal written examination is still valid? Agree or Disagree?

In these days, people often take a variery of viewpoints when it comes to most dail life issues. To give a an illustration, in the education system, while many people believe that the assessing students’ academic performance through formal written tests is valid, others hold the opinion that this is not the case. This essay offers some insights in favor of the former outlook.

There are numerous reliable grounds that support the validity of the assessment through formal written examination.

First and formost, written examination plays an imperative role in assessing students’ performance and progress during the course of their study. This is especially true when it comes to the points that the test can help detecting students’ strength and weakness and therefore, enhance their academic performance. Without the formal written examination, there would be no effective means to measure how well the students grasp what they have been taught at school.

In addition, ample evidence from a number of studies also suggests students would concentrate more and allocate a substantial amount of time for their study since they are fully aware that there would be an examination laying ahead. There is no doubt that they study diligently because none of them want to get low marks nor fail the final examination and re-take the subjects the following terms. To give a illustration, during the exam week, it is not difficult to catch sight of students who spend a whole day in the library to cram for their upcoming examination papers.

In conclusion, from the above analysis, it is obvious that formal written examination still holds an important role in assessing students’ academic performance in an education system.