Consumers are faced with an increasing amount of advertising from competing companies. To what extent are the consumers influenced by advertisements? What measure can protect the consumers?

Nowadays, people are inundated with various forms of advertising. In my standpoint, such excessive advertising can be harmful to the society and thereby, appropriate measures are necessary to protect prospective buyers.

To start with, manufacturers and entrepreneurs, in order to maximize their profits, spare no effort to persuade potential customers to purchase the products that are not of necessity and hence a total waste of money. With the advancement of techonology, we would be able to see various forms of advertising everyday, ranging from television commercials to simple flyers. For instance, it is very common to see the logos of the tournament sponsors when watching a football match. Likewise, should we watch a blockbusters movie in a cinema, there is a high chance that we could notice certain products are being embedded in the film for advertisement purposes. Such an overwhelming volume of advertising do we experience that we tend to be profoundly influenced by it and hence purchase without deliberate thought.

Though not being easy and straightforward, there are several ways to combat the downsides of advertisment. First, government should publish regulations and impose restrictions on advertising of harmful products such as tobacco and alcohol. However, they are not capable to control all form of advertisement. This means that consumers must be conscious and make use of their common sense when shopping. Secondly, parents are advised not to excessively expose their children to the commercials, which may consist of either inappropriate contents or unhealthy products. This would be achieved by either turning off the television when it comes to the advertisment session or explaning to the young that possessing a newer toys is not necessary.

In conclusion, despite being unable to flee away from the advertisements and their associated detrimental effects, suitable initiatives should be enacted to protect the potential consumers.