Consumers are faced with an increasing amount of advertising from competing companies. To what extent are the consumers influenced by advertisements? What measure can protect the consumers?

Nowadays, people are encountering the inundation of advertisements from a variety of producers who choose to approach their prospective customers by means of promotion. Such approach can mislead people and gradually alter their spending behavior. Hence, feasible remedies should be enacted to safeguard the customers from such negative impacts.

To start with, it is rather evident that excessive exposure to advertisements brings about detrimental effects to people. Firstly, though being persuasive and informative, commercials may contain inaccurate information and manufacturers tend to exaggerate the effects of their products. This, in return, entices more customers to purchase for commodities that are unnecessary and hence a waste of money. Secondly, some companies deliberately aim at the children by exposing them to colorful and captivating advertisements. Being inexperienced, the youngsters are easily swayed and influenced and therefore, put a pressure on their parents to buy them items such as toys and game consoles that may cost a fortune yet unnecessary.

Obviously, measures to combat the repercussion of advertisement and protect the customers are vital. One promising solution is that government should impose strict regulations on what kind of products should be brought to the public. To illustrate, products such as alcohol and tobacco are not advised to promote broadly owing to its detrimental effects to human’s health in which lung cancer is an exemplar. Besides, campaigns ought to be organized to raise people awareness and knowledge on making a wise and prudent purchase decision. Such activities could therefore enable potential consumers to refrain themselves from excessive purchases and save additional amount money for other needs.

In conclusion, the omnipresence of advertisements is harmful to the consumers thus, government as well individuals should together undertake actions to mitigate the downsides of such advertising activities.