The mass media including TV, Radio and newspaper influence our society and shape our opinions and characters. What is your opinion?

In these day, people often take a variety of viewpoints when it comes to most daily life issues. To give an illustration, while many people believe that the mass media including newspaper and radio influence the society and shape our opinions as well as characters, other holds the opinion that this is not the case. This essay offers some insights in favor of the former outlook.

There are numerous reliable grounds to support the belief that our society, opinions and characters are influenced by the mass media such as newspaper and radio. First and foremost, people tend to take the information from the newspaper for granted without verifying the validity and reliability of it and drive their behaviour accordingly. This is especially true when it comes to the breaking news of crimes such as murder and fraud. As such, people would be more watchful when communicating with strangers because none of them wants to fall prey to such incidents.

In addition, ample evidence from a numerous studies also suggests that general public are influenced by the mass media quite easily. There is no doubt that a majority of people has the inclination to purchase for unnecessary products impulsively after seeing an attractive commercial on the television. This leads to loss of time and money of the customers. To give an illustration, children often pester their parents to buy them luxurious toys after seeing them on the television and therefore, trigger a change in their parents’ spending behaviour.

In conclusion, from the analysis above, it is obvious that our society, characters and opinions are subject to alter by the mass media such newspaper and radio.