In many schools and universities, girls tend to choose arts subjects and boys choose science subjects. What do you think are the reasons? Do you think that this tendency should be changed?

There has been a difference in subject preference in which the boys prefer to study science and the girls tend to enroll in arts classes. This will be explained below and in my standpoint, a change shall be encouraged to avoid gender imbalance

The aforementioned phenomenon stems from a long-standing gender stereotype that there are significant differences between men and women, in terms of cognitive abilities. Over the centuries, it has been widely acknowledged that men are born with exceptional analytical capacity while women, in contrast, are inherently good at memorization. These public concepts have a considerable influence on the students’ decision on their subjects and future carreer paths. As a result, it is understandable that male students choose science subjects such as math and physics whilst female students head toward art subjects such as history and languages, because they believe that these subjects can develop their talents.

In my opinion, this trend is rather ridiculous and unscientific and changing it should be promoted. As a matter of fact, there is definitely boys who are interrested in literature as well as girls who are talented in engineering. Under the above-mentioned premise, students may be forced to give up what they truly excel at and blindly choose the subjects that they are opposed to. However, students, regardless of gender, have the freedom to opt for majors that best cultivate their aptitudes. Hence, there is a necessity to eradicate such sexual preference on subjects. By doing this, youngsters will be able to make a wise and prudent decision on their future career, based on their competence and excellenece.

In conclusion, it is understandable why there is a difference in choosing subjects among genders and the society, including the public media and families should take action against this.