Large shopping malls are replacing small shops. What is your opinion on this change? Good or bad?

In these days, there is no denying the reality that large shopping malls are growing in numbers and they are replacing small shops in every corner of the world. While many people believe that the change brings about positive impacts to people’s lives, others feel that the opposite is also correct. This essay offers some insights on both the merits and demerits of the development.

Perhaps the greatest benefit people can enjoy from large shopping malls is the convenience they offer. As a matter of fact, people can purchase many products and services at the same location without having to travel from place to place to satisfy their needs. This is especially true when people have become busier and time saving is crucial. Another advantage of shopping malls is that they have better facilities. To give an illustration, people can use a wide range of modern infrastructures such as elevators, escalators and automatic car park, which enhances their shopping experiences.

Nonetheless, like two sides of the same coin, shopping malls also creates many problems. The most obvious negative impact is the disappearance of small local businesses. This is due to the fact that small stores are unable to compete with shopping malls in attracting customers, and thus are gradually forced to close down. As a consequence, people will have to face with unemployment and bankruptcy.

In conclusion, from the analysis above, it is clear that while large shopping malls allow people to enjoy great benefits, they also bring upon a number of drawbacks to others’ lives and the society.