Nowadays, young people spend too much of their free time in shopping malls. Some people fear that this may have negative effects on young people and the society they live in. Do you agree or disagree?

There is a growing trend in society’s today that many young generations often spend a plenty of time for shopping, this trend can seriously affect the young and the community in the future. In my opinion, I strongly agree with this idea for insidious reasons.

There are a variety of reasons why young people spend a huge amount of time in shoppoing malls. Firstly, they are compulsive shoppers, they are always attracted by buying new things such as new clothes, perfumes or jewelries that they do not really need. For example, a girl or a boy can spend $3 000 for a new T-shirt which is made by a well-known brand like Gucci. The next important reason is that people want to keep up the latest trend with their relatives and their friends. Even they would like to show their status symbols through shopping.

However, spending time in shopping centers also adversely affects both people’s lives and society. First of all, shopping takes a great deal of money. People only focus on earning money for the main reason is shopping rather than saving money for their private purpose in their own life. This leads to the next drawback is getting to debt which exerts pressures on families and societies. For instance, people are ready to buy everything they love with a tight budget.

In conclusion, the young should spend less time in shopping malls because I believe it has negative impacts on both their private life and society as well.