It is said that for some developed countries, tourism may cause some disadvantages. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this?

In these days, people often take a variety of viewpoints when it comes to most daily life issue. To give an illustration, while many people believe that tourism may bring about some disadvantages to some developed countries, other hold the opinion that this is not the case. This essay offers some insights in favor of the former outlook.

There are a number of reliable grounds that support the belief that tourism may have some negative impact to some developed countries. First and foremost, serving an influx of tourist every year would make the infrastructure and facilities of the host country to degrade much faster. This is true especially when majority of visitors are coming from developing countries whose culture is different and hence, not considerate enough to keep the infrastructure such as ancient buildings at their best condition. Without foreign tourism, it can be argued that the facilities and infrastructure would last longer, leading to reduced maintenance cost.

In addition, ample evidence from a number of studies also suggests that many foreign tourists remain illegally in developed countries. There is no doubt that people from developing countries would try to stay in developed ones and eventually become offenders such as robbers. As such, these people become a burden of the society and impede its development. To give an illustration, it is reported that there is thousands of illegal residents in the United States, being homeless, unemployed and burdening its social welfare such as healthcare.

In conclusion, from the above analysis, it is obvious that for some developed countries, tourism may cause some disadvantages.