Consumers are faced with increasing numbers of advertisements from competing companies. To what extent do you think are consumers influenced by advertisements? What measures can be taken to protect them?

Customers nowadays are encountering the inundation of advertisements from a variety of producers who invest in promotion to approach their potential customers. The omnipresence of commercials misleads consumers and increases their spending, so protective measures are essential to be taken.

The fact that commercials of many products are flooding on the market has some negative impacts on buyers. Firstly, advertisements with persuasive but unreliable information can manipulate them. They are obsessed that possessing an advertised product can convert them into a perfect one who endorses the item. For that reason, they may make purchase without thinking and waste money for what they do not really need. Secondly, consumers have to pay for exorbitant price which includes advertising cost. This spending exponentially outnumbers the real value of products or services, but buyers are unaware of this hiden cost.

Therefore, both consumers and government need to take actions to protect buyers against repercussions that advertisements bring about. One practical measure is for consumers to raise their knowledge to make wise purchases. For example, instead of depending totally on misleading information and witty images provided in advertisements, they should take word-of-mouth feedbacks into account and buy only essential items. Furthermore, government should apply standardized prices for the same products of all brands, which will still maintain the competitiveness among many companies but customers will not have to pour a large amount of money into promotion cost.

In conclusion, since advertisements are too overwhelming, its target customers have to suffer many troubles. Thus, effective remedies should be taken by both individuals and authorities to mitigate the problems.