The illiterate of the 21st century will not be those who cannot read and write, but those who cannot learn, unlearn, and relearn. Do you Agree or Disagree?

In these days, people often take a variety of viewpoints when it comes to most daily life issue. To give an illustration, while many people believe that the illiterate of the 21st century will not be those who cannot read and write, but rather those who cannot learn, unlearn and relearn, others hold the opinion that this is not the case. This essay offers some insights in favor of the former outlook.

There are numberous reliable grounds to support the belief that rather than not being able to read and write, those who are unable to learn, unlearn and relearn will become the illiterate of the 21st century. First and foremost, people should learn new things because the advancement of technology has revolutionized the way people do things. This is true especially when emails and online social networks have altered the way human communicate. Without being able to relearn the new things, it can be argued that people would be behind the time and become illiterate.

In addtion, ample evidence from a number of studies also suggests that continuous learning is imperative for each individual regardless of age and social status. There is no doubt that technology is changing the way people work. As such, failing to update with the latest knowledge would result in declining productivity and efficiency, leading to loss of jobs. To give an illustration, in the field of computer science, new findings are invented everyday and if the engineers are not catching up with the changes, he would become illiterate in his own field.

In conclusion, from the above analysis, it is obvious that the illiterate of the 21st century will not be those cannot read and write but those who cannot learn, unlearn and relearn.