Some people believe law changes human behaviour. Do you agree/disagree?

In these days, people often take a variety of viewpoints when it comes to most daily issues. To give a illustration, while many people believe that law can change human behaviour, other hold the opinion that this is not the case. This essay offers some insights in favor of the former outlook

There are numerous reliable grounds that support the belief that human behaviour can be altered by law. First and foremost, law is a set of govermental enforcement which applies for all citizens and residents of a country. Should an individual breach any of these regulations, it shall be deemed as unacceptable and the law-breaker would be subject to punishment for their misconduct. This is especially true when it comes to heinous crimes such as drug trafficking and murder. Without the laws, it can be argued that people would be able to commit crimes on purpose because they are fully aware that they would not hold any responsibilty nor punishment

In addition, ample evidence from a numerous studies also suggests that law can act as a deterrent to wrongdoers and therefore promote a better society and maintain a sustainable development. There is no doubt that people would obey to the laws in order to avoid punishment such as fines and imprisonment. To give an illustration, in Singapore and some other countries, no one dares to traffick drug of any kind and amount since they are fully aware that the punishment for their wrongdoing would be the death penalty.

In conclustion, from the above analysis, it is obvious that law can change human behaviour even though some people may not even realize it.