To survive in this highly competitive and dynamic era, companies worldwide often adopt new and innovative methods of sales and marketing. Recently, we have witnessed the trend of special sales and discount scheme to capture larger market share for increasing sales volumes and revenues. Proponents are debating over this phenomena, many argue that this way of marketing can tarnish reputation and brand image of the company, however, others have opposite views stating that this is a new way to attract mammoth customers and gives free publicity. In this article, I will lay my opinion after analyzing both the advantages and disadvantages of this trend.

To begin with, regularly coming out with special sales offers and festival discounts are proven to be a good strategy for companies world over. It has had generated massive sales and profit for the companies in a short period of time. For instance, a special discount offered by famous television brand on the occasions of the football world cup has beaten their earnings estimates. Moreover, companies can convert cash from the huge pile of inventories.

On the other hand, frequent offers and schemes can put a question mark in the mindset of consumer and it can backfire in long run, hence, left a detrimental impact on the company in terms of the reputation and branding. Furthermore, there have been instances of the poor quality of goods offered during such discount periods.

In conclusion, from the above examples it is evident that if timed it right with precise strategy, discounts and offers can be boon for the companies, otherwise it can turn in to a ban leaving severe impacts.