Does the use of computer/technology benefit the educational process

In today’s modern world technology has become essential. Phones, laptops and so many other means are all used in our everyday life. However, People today tend to focus more on the use of technology within the context of education. While for some it may sound as a good idea to combine the use of technology and education together, for others it is not.

To begin with, the use of technology can smooth the process of learning. Many students today struggle to keep up with their classmates’ pace, but with the help of technology they could easily overcome that. Students now can use the technology to look for reliable resources such as videos, articles which could help them understand their course material better. Not only the use of technology makes the process of learning easier, but it also enhances the students-teacher relationship. Sometimes students might not be able to ask questions to their teachers due to their shyness and embarrassment, and that could hamper students’ academic performance. However, with the use of technology students might be able to do so since they could easily reach their teachers through either Email or Facebook.

Although the use of technology may offer students some great benefits, it is still not right for them. One of the main challenges of technology is that it requires a great self-control since it is too addictive. Students in such an age are still not mature enough to handle its use. Therefore, allowing them to use it will only lead them to concentrate less on their studies. Another side or ill effect of technology on students is that it kills their creativity. Instead of depending on themselves, Students now use the means of technology like internet to just copy and past the information so they can get a good grade. In other words, the use of technology doesn’t only kill students’ creativity, but it also lead to incompetency.

As a conclusion, There are always two side of the coin and technology is not excluded. While some may support technology, others may not. Sometimes the use of technology may help students to improve their abilities of learning and even enhance the relationship between students and their teachers. However, technology may not help sometimes. Instead of helping students, technology may have the opposite results since it can be both addictive and hard to handle; adding to it that it kills creativity too.