Doing an enjoyable activity with a child can develop better skills and imagination than reading. To what extent do you agree? Use reasons and specific examples to explain your answer.

Nowadays, there are a lot of interesting and very beautiful books, but I believe these books do not give such a good experience as a favorite activity. In this essay we will see how this kind of activity influences the development of smart children’s thinking.

Firstly, reading seems usually boring, and not all children are fond of reading books, despite the fact that it can bring a lot of new interesting information. However, playing on an electronic console, such as a PlayStation can develop skills that would be impossible to develop just by reading. This is because doing an enjoyable activity with a child improves thinking, and cognitive awareness skills. When my son was young he did enjoyable activities such as painting and building robots and because he enjoyed them he was motivated. As a result, he was able to develop his imagination and other skills. Therefore, the benefits of doing an enjoyable activity are clear and give an opportunity to the child to progress in areas that are impossible to develop just by reading.

Secondly, reading is also very necessary for developing a child’s mind. In general education it helps to develop good reading skills, but when it mixes with physical activity its influences are more effective. This is due to the fact that playing with a child outdoor sport games introduces new dynamics such as competition, social, communicative and motivational skills. Take for example school relay races, which develop physical and logical skills. This kind of activity for children is very enjoyable and it allows children to build good relationship.

To conclude from these examples and the arguments given I firmly agree that physical and enjoyable activities doubtless have a bigger impact than reading on such important skills as cognitive awareness and competition for future good life experience.