Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarkets in some countries many small local businesses are unable to compete some people think that the closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities.

To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

Recently, the expansion of supermarkets has an obvious influence on societies and the selection of local people, besides, it affected the local markets to became less popular and have less business trade in comparison with the past. In my point of view I absorb that the supermarkets win the competition between themselves and small local markets due to the fact that gathering all the product in one place and provide simple shopping by saving the time, moreover, the price of each product in the supermarket prevent wasting of the money.

Shopping in supermarkets saves money and time. Nowadays, in modern life, people faced with a lack of time and they would appreciate it if they can buy all their needs in an hour instead of driving and parking their car in the different places all around the city. What's more, often in a supermarket the products might have lower costs to attract the customer and offer the best quality by some percentage off, therefore, there might have benefits for both part of the trade, customer and the producer. The money saving and the lack of time consuming encourage people to choose supermarkets instead of small local markets.

In my view, local businesses are not essentially the base of local communities, so if the citizen stops buying their needs from local markets it does not mean that the locality of their life disappears. Local communities could continue their activities in the form of local theater, or local gathering to do sport in public places such as park or gym.

In conclusion, the use of supermarkets instead of small markets rapidly growth and in my opinion local societies revives by replacing other activities instead of shopping.