Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarkets in some countries, many small, local business are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The flourishing supermarkets, in some nations, have negatively affected the ability of local businesses to stand against the competition so according to some the local markets will shut down and ultimately lead to death of the communities in that particular areas. In my opinion, I agree that the local communities will suffer if their businesses flop.

The main reason why the local communities will be affected is that expenses of people will increase greatly if there will be no business around them. At present, people live in the world that is too expensive to meet the fundamental needs of a life. On has to be discreet and stingy in order to live their life smoothly. Closing of the local markets would force the masses to travel for fulfilling their needs such as buying the grocery and other stuff. As a result, people will have to spend unnecessary money on transportation which was easily possible before. This will make the survival of lower- indeed middle class families difficult.

Another point to consider is that having no local business in an area will lead to increase in unemployment, of that particular area, to an alarming rate which ultimately will decrease in population of the concerned community. For example, nearly every member of a society is dependent on its nearby market for their job. No markets would mean no jobs which consequently will direct people towards migration towards the areas of job availability. As a result, the affected community will have fewer members which will disturb the social lives of many: one of the biggest issues worldwide.

In conclusion, local markets are must for any community to survive. The growing supermarkets are a threat to the local markets.