As a result of tourism and the increasing number of people traveling, there is a growing demand for more flights. what problems does this have on the environment? what measures could be taken?

It is irrefutable that the tourism industry is flourishing at a high pace. As people want to save their time, they prefer to travel through the fastest means of transport. As a result, the necessity of flights or more planes is increasing day by day. Such a trend is affecting the environment negatively. However, there are some steps as discussed below in the essay, to resolve the issue.

To begin with the problems, gasses emitted from the burning of fuel, which is used to operate air crafts, are causing a lot of air pollution. Due to this, the carbon monoxide and the carbon dioxide ratios are escalating in the atmosphere. As a result, it leads to ozone layer depletion and consequently, there is no protection to the earth from the ultraviolet rays that come from the sun. To illustrate, 70% of the dreadful gases in the atmosphere are an effect of the overuse of airplanes and are contributing to global warming. Another issue of such a trend is that these space machines require a lot of raw material for their manufacturing. Thus, it wastes a significant amount of natural resources of Earth such as coal, petroleum, and natural gas.

One of the solutions to rectify the increasing environmental problems would be taxing the flights or increasing the prices of tickets. It would divert people towards the other cheap sources of traveling such as through the land transports. For instance, people would prefer going by bus rather than paying a double amount for the same, in developing countries. Furthermore, awakening people about the detrimental effects of wasting natural resources would help in sorting the issues to some extent.

To conclude, the earth is converting to a boiling pot due to the increase in temperature. Although scientists are doing their best to make more fuel-efficient vehicles, still it is the time to preserve mother earth. Perhaps in the future, having resolved the issues of increasing pollution, there is hope people will enjoy the fresh air.