In order to solve traffic problems, governments should tax private car owners heavily and use their money to improve public transportation. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such solutions?

Increasing traffic problems, for instance overcrowding and accidents, have led government to think of imposing taxes on the private vehicle owners and utilize the same for upgrading public transport system. Taxing the private car owners is a key to developing country but there are also drawbacks to be taken into account.

Firstly, one benefit of collecting taxes from private car owners is that it prevents air pollution to a great extent. In other words, less people use the cars if there are more taxes on the personal cars. As a result, harmful gasses emitted from these vehicles become less: a step towards environment preservation. Secondly, using money collected through charging it in form of taxes can be used for the development of country. This money, for instance, can be used for improving the medical and health care facilities which are the basic requirements for a country to flourish. Moreover, it requires a lot of funds to build the transportation infrastructure. Contributing in such collections should be taken as a primary responsibility by everyone, especially by those who are availing the benefits by using their own vehicles.

On the other hand, one problem when people are forced to pay the huge amounts of money is that it burdens them financially. For example, it is very difficult to pay extra in the already expensive world. As a result, they may start compromising with their fundamental life necessities or may even turn suicidal in severe cases. A recent survey done by the times of India revealed that 23 percent of the suicides in India are done by the tensed masses under huge debts. Another issue of imposing vehicle taxes is that it leads to decrease in income for the companies manufacturing these vehicles as people prefer not to buy their products. This causes people to travel in the public transports and ultimately rush and crowds in the government machinery which makes public transportation inconvenient for travelling.

In conclusion, while paying taxes to the government may benefit society as a whole, it may lead to mental stress to those who pay it.