Education being the backbone of a nation is a vivid indicator of development. I partially agree with the view that education, in particular the primary level of education should be free for everyone.

To begin with, it is a natural human tendency that anything which is made free, declines in its value. Same can be the case with education also. The reason higher education is viewed with so much of respect is that there is an immense effort which goes into acquiring it. If it was otherwise, a lot of students would not put their mind & soul into it. Furthermore, making higher education free would even lower the motivation level of professors & faculties, thereby lowering the overall quality of education. Consequently, there are chances that the failure percentage may increase in case education is made free as the student would not have to bear the burden of fees anymore. Hence, reducing fees for schools and colleges to nothing, can be detrimental for the teaching system itself.

Additionally, a plethora of schemes in which simplify the access to education are already available with easy access. Measures such as providing education loans with zero rate of interest, introducing fee waiver schemes for the destitute families, scholarship policies for the meritorious students at the school level, government fundings to colleges and universities, are being implemented in many countries. For example, the already existing "Bharat Mata" scholarship for the single girl child from socially or economically backward communities has enabled India to progress in the field of education and research. To substantiate further, it has been reported that the number of school drop-outs has reduced from 25 millions in 2003 to 8.1million in 2009 due to these efforts in place. Clearly, the current policies are enhancing the reach of education to all sections of society.

To conclude, primary education should be made free for all but higher education should be made more accessible & not completely free .