These days, there is a controversial debate between people about the impacts of formal assessment. There are a great number of people who interpret the impacts of formal assessment as thoroughly constructive, while others hold an opponent view. I am inclined to believe that formal assessment is beneficial and should be promoted.

There are several reasons why continual assignment is advantageous. First of all, It is argued that that continual assignments play pivotal role in creating adroit people. This is attributed to the fact that such assessments could relieve the stress of a student during an exam, therefore, they would create a feeling of accomplishment and competence, which consequently open avenues to new achievements so that student’s enthusiasm and determination will be amplified towards many daunting tasks. Take the math for example, even high intelligent pupils have to do uphill struggle to pass the exam, when they are puzzled.

In addition, it is claimed that formal examinations are not flexible enough to assess the other trait that possessed by a student such as leadership, interpersonal and social skills, and the ability to present a topic to the public . This is to say that these traits could be acquired through practical assignments such as presentations and projects, which would instill strong feeling of self-esteem in student so that they are more likely to perform up to expectations in society. Specifically, a research study conducted by Yale university in 2015 has found that regular assignments could enhance a person’s intellectual ability to make decisions related to social and personal life.

In conclusion, the foregoing discussion propounds the view that continual assignments enhance the efficiency and effectiveness of students’ evaluation and increases the pupil’s confidence. It is expected that institutions take cognizance of these facts and begin to adopt this way of assessment.