Education system is introducing more academic subjects instead of exercises and sports. How will it impact the children? What can be done about it?

It is true that the modern education system has introduced more academic subjects and added them to schools’ curriculum which would have some adverse effects on young children’s health. Governments should take steps to tackle this problem.

The lack of physical exercise will impact children in a number of different ways. Firstly, this will lead to the prevalence of obesity among children that is a result of sedentary life style. A salient example of this is the Germany that could eradicate the children’s obesity by adding more exercise and sports to their timetable in 2012. Secondly, lack of exercise increase the stress level among pupils and will cause anxiety and depression in young children. Finally, it is proved in some researches that lack of physical activities could impact the brain’s functionality and consequently affect human’s efficiency in the future.

On the other hand, there are some solutions for this scheme and governments, teachers and parents should take measures to solve the problem. Although the importance of academic subjects is clear for everyone, some academic subjects should be superseded by physical exercises. It is apparent that nowadays computer games are more appealing to children and they are reluctant to spend their time with their peers doing physical activities, so it is the schools’ responsibility to provide more sports at schools. Furthermore, schools can arrange programmes for pupils to visit the countryside which would be beneficial for their health due to the long hour walking and they will learn to respect the nature as well as the wildlife.

In conclusion, not only academic subjects such as math, literature and art, but also the exercises and sports are important and beneficial for children.