Elderly people are nowadays being sent to old aged homes rather than. being looked by a family in homes.

Do the advantages of old aged homes outweigh its disadvantages?

In today’s era it is increasingly common for families to put their parents in care homes rather than taking care of them at homes. Advantages of living in nursing homes are comparatively less than living with their families.

To begin with, the main benefit of elderly people are being sent in nursing homes is that most of the care homes are well equipped and full of modern facilities that are much demanded or needed by senior citizens. For Instance, senior citizens often face health related issues So, the presence of trained staffed for 24 hours a day is significant for them which provides sense of safety both for both the parents and their families. Moreover, residents of retired homes build a community that every member can feel a part of it. Taking part in social activities has positive impact on elderly people’s mental health.

Despite the benefits, there are some drawbacks associated with living in a senior home. Firstly, the main issue is that the assistant living facilities can be very costly as many people cannot afford to bear the expenses.

Secondly seniors are emotionally very sensitive, and they need love and support from their family but when these old parents are sent off to nursing homes no one can measure the amount of sadness and loneliness they feel. This is due to the distance created from the family and friends. For Example, the old people wait for festivals so that they can meet all the relatives. This is the best time for chatting, celebrating and reunion.

To conclude, although living in nursing might be beneficial for elderly people but I think that senior people should be respected and loved by their families. There have been so many good and useful things that these old people have done for their families, therefore their families should take care of them when they are old.