Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interest, and whether they are married or single.

Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Many organizations ask new job applicants to provide their personal information, such as their likes, dislikes, and marital status. These facts about people could be helpful for employers to determine the level of individuals whereas others do not agree with this fact. In this essay, I will discuss both the views with my personal opinion and relevant examples.

To start with, personal details of the people are widely used by companies to determine the important facts about them before hiring. Nevertheless, many employers use this data to authenticate their details and rule out any fraud, which could happen after the hiring of the applicant. So, it plays a vital role in selecting the right candidate for job positions. In many multinational companies, for instance, the human-resources department mainly responsible for collecting these personal details and they further check scrutiny of the information provided to them. Thus, the facts collected by companies seem to be helpful.

On the other hand, a small number of people also think that it will not use for employers. They could have a bad experience in the past. Nonetheless, they could have faced some kinds of problems related to information leakage. To solve these kinds of problems, employers should create some strict policies to avoid these kinds of privacy violations. In the past few years, for example, private information has been leaked by some of the popular social media companies, such as Facebook, Twitter, and Whatsup.

In my opinion, these types of personal information are very helpful for employers to find out the right candidates for higher positions. If this factual information is appropriately used then they could find out some pivotal insights about the candidate. To illustrate, nowadays, many organisations use analytical tools to analyze this personal information to determine the potential of an individual.

To sum up, the personal details asked by employers could be used properly to find out some factual information rather than misuse of it. I strongly believe in this fact that it would be more helpful in the upcoming future as well.