Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Other disagree. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is a controversial issue about the importance of information about marriage and pastimes at interviews. Some recruiters believe that this information plays an important role in recruitment, while some social workers think that it should not be used in hiring. In this essay, I will discuss both points of view and agree with the idea of extracting personal questions from the application form.

Let us start with the reasons why some interviewers claim that asking personal information enables them to recruit the best staff. The first reason is that personal information contributes to make a decision about a job offer. The knowledge of personality usually allows HR managers to see whether the applicant is appropriate to the open vacancy at the final stage of interview. Another reason is that this kind of information often shows managers to discover the potential for higher positions. These managers also need this kind of information to see, if the interviewed person suits to become either a manager or team leader. Furthermore, it also can tip future colleagues how to collaborate with the newcomer. The senior staff also uses the outcome of this private questionnaire to attach a new subordinate to the best team, where they can show excellent results.

However, some social workers argue that social workers should omit personal questions. They justify their viewpoint with the following arguments. Firstly, personal questions at the interview may annoy the interviewees. These questions may embarrass some applicants, because they are overly shy to answer them, which frequently deters the most qualified options. Secondly, some of these questions are irrelevant to employment. It sometimes happens that the personal questionnaire covers inappropriate details, which are not suitable to the offered place. Moreover, personal information may leak into the web. Many companies may not keep the result of questionnaire a secret, so interested people may easily upload it on the Internet, which criminals can use to commit a crime against the applicants.

In conclusion, even though some interviewers state that details of personality helps them in recruiting largely, I think that this sort of information is redundant at the interview.