English is spreading all around the world as a global language.Is this a positive or negative development?

One of the prime postwar effects of the second world-war was the widespread use of English as the most common lingua franca. This phenomenon includes certain positive as well as negative consequences. Personally, I believe that the merits of utilizing English outweigh its demerits owing to several reasons.

The foremost important role English plays is as a means of communication. This role is of crucial significance if multifarious nations are wistful to be in touch in different international facets. Examples of this function throughout the world range from economic to scientific relationships amongst countries. A notable example in this regard is that of medical developments, in which doctors and medical researchers can share their newly-found cures of illnesses globally by English.

The other leading advantage of promulgating English all around the world is to assist globalization. This inevitable and cogent movement may reduce racism and war on earth, eliminating the manmade boundaries among all people. To achieve this goal, English has an important part as an international link, connecting together, people with a vast variety of backgrounds. This being the case, it is less likely that a country attacks another one while they see no disparity in terms of the language they have picked up.

Admittedly, there seems to be a number of individuals who consider English as a juggernaut, eradicating whatever related to a nation’s history and culture; However, they overlook the fact that a civilized nation, for instance, is more viable to set a good example for the others through sharing with them its precious and sophisticated culture by applying English.

Overall, while there may be found some side effects to the universal pervasiveness of English, the necessity of accepting, learning and using it as the most important factor of cosmopolitan developments is not deniable. A necessity supported by a big number of sensible views.