Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement

In today’s world, often seen as a global village, immigration has become a common phenomenon. Along with this come a number of unwelcome consequences such as social and practical issues, with which immigrants need to deal. I believe these problems are inevitable for the newcomers to a country.

Regarding social problems, the foremost one would be found in everyday communication. This is because the majority of individuals who leave their homes in search of a better place to live are not able to speak in the host country’s language, thereby facing myriad of problems for the smallest things they want to do such as taking a taxi. Although some of these immigrants master the host country’s language, they would encounter some other sort of problems in their daily interactions owing to the cultural differences. A range of instances in this regard could be seen in nations’ body languages. For example, showing a thumb in most of the western countries is to say something is okay or to wish somebody luck. However, it is considered as an insult in a number of eastern countries, and doing so may result in a fight.

Turning to practical issues an immigrant may encounter, finding a job tends to be a major one. Due to various marketing and occupational systems in different countries, it would be a hard and demanding process to find a suitable job in a host country. This being the case, a number of foreigners who cannot find a job would be obliged to turn to crime so as to find a grab of food. Joblessness of foreigners is considered as a serious practical problem for both immigrant and the host country.

Admittedly, we all know people who once have emmigrated to another place and now are running thriving and delightful lives. It demonstrates that the above-mentioned issues would not happen to all. However, a key issue in this regard is that these successful people have emigrated elsewhere when there were immense grounds and potential for catching their goals, because of the lack of workforce and a small number of immigrants.

All in all, it would be an undeniable fact that most of the people who go to other countries to start a new life would suffer from social and practical problems specially during the first months. Therefore, they ought to fasten their belts to acquire the host countries language as perfect as possible and to master a skill which is mostly needed in their destination.