The world’s air pollution levels are rising year on year. What should humanity do to counter this problem?

Increasing levels of airborne pollutants have proved to be a major obstacle for humanity in the 21st century. To counter this problem, efforts should focus on the two most major causes of airborne pollutants: coal-based energy and the burning of fossil fuels. This essay will examine the plausibility of addressing this problem through alternative municipal energy sources and traffic regulations.

Firstly, cities that power themselves with coal could shift to more environmentally friendly energy sources like nuclear. Similar shifts have successfully occurred in cities like Shanghai. Although this move would involve several years of reconnaissance work to ensure safety, the results are exponentially cleaner than coal-based energy. If all major cities were to shift away from coal in this way, the world’s air would be much cleaner.

A second approach could involve a change to municipal traffic regulations. For example, some metropolitan cities have imposed carpool lanes to help encourage people to commute together to work. This approach has proved its effectiveness in Tehran, Toronto and New York City, and thus would be a plausible approach to pollution issues in other large cities.

As the above examination has made clear, alternative energy sources and evolved traffic regulations would be effective counters to the world’s current airborne pollution problem. I hope these approaches are put into action soon.