Some people think subjects taught in school

are a waste of time, while others disagree and believe that this type of

education is useful for students. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some of the most controversial issues are the ones, surrounding curriculum, set in schools. Certain number of people assert that the subjects, chosen to be taught at schools, are worth teaching; However, some others are of the opinion that these subjects are not of any profit for the learners. Concerning my view, I concur with the last group due to a variety of reasons.

On the one hand, some people believe that the current sort of educating students through the present curriculum is apposite, owing to the fact that the subjects, included in school programs have been opted for by the experts after years of evaluating and experiencing manifold alternatives; For instance, lesson designers are able to decide better on what level of science can be more beneficial to pupils and what level for high school students. In addition, those who agree with the existing educational procedure resort to culturally acceptable factors, regarded in selecting school subjects, such as theology, a seemingly useless lesson for some, which is one of the most valued ones among the officials in Iran, with regard to Iran’s religious policies.

On the other hand, some individuals are critical of the status quo in terms of teaching material, averting that the chosen subjects are not going to be of any practice in students’ present and future lives. This group of people advocates their perspective by mentioning certain outdated subjects, as theology or Arabic language, which can be substituted with some other ones, like Information Technology, that is far more practical. What makes this number of people censure school subjects is the crucial need to teach social skills to pupils during their first years of participating at school classes, and thereby, grounding off more likelihood for their accomplished future and in turn a flourishing society. Taking the viewpoints of this group into consideration, the necessity to change a number of subjects and updating some others is manifest and should be put into practice by the school programmers and lawmakers.

All in all, although there seems to be a bunch of people who hold sanguine view toward school lessons, a majority of others are defying some of the materials educated at schools at the moment, which give rise to an immense revolution to be felt in schools’ curriculum.