Nowadays, new stories play a significant role in broadening our knowledge as well as informing us of everyday occurrences around the world. Most news reports are also accompanied with several strike images. However, it is argued that the photographs are more valuable and useful than words in articles. The following paragraphs will discuss this view and my perception.

It is reasonable to believe that the photographs can more efficiently help people understand news stories. First of all, pictures can represent the situation more directly, and people merely need to spend a few seconds browsing the photographs to obtain the necessary information. Additionally, many scientists have also demonstrated that most people have impressive proficiency in assimilating the information or data illustrated by pictures rather than words since human memory is more sensitive to visual images. Therefore, even after a long time, the memory of a news story still can be triggered by going through relevant pictures.

On the other hand, some people believe that words are the more effective than pictures. The words provide us with more comprehensive and precise account of an event, which contributes to promoting our understanding. A news story about a scientific discovery, for instance, the data results can be directly displayed by pictographs, however, the important details, including the painstaking procedures and summary, still need to be described explicitly with words for readers to comprehend. In other words, photographs sometimes solely offer people a glimpse of those stories. Besides, most people determine whether a news article is interesting or not by reading news titles instead of viewing those images.

In my opinion, words and pictures are the equally crucial components of a news report. Pictures enable readers to quickly and easily acquire and remember the basic information while words enable people to understand the news article completely.