Every country should have a free health service, even if this means that the latest medical treatments may not be available through the service because they are too expensive. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the past, medical treatments were not readily available to people around the globe. However, due to globalization and recent scientific breakthroughs, it is possible to provide basic health care to all individuals. This has led to the recent argument on whether countries must provide unpaid medical care to her citizens. In this essay, I would like to highlight the reason why at least the basic care must be available to the citizen, if not the high-priced treatments.

Firstly, health service, in my opinion, is a basic necessity and must be provided free of cost by every government. A healthy population means a highly productive workforce which can contribute to the country's advancements in various facets. For instance, countries around the world that are plagued with diseases are often developing countries.

Secondly, free essential medical assistance lets citizens know that they are taken care of by their country. Especially, for those who might have monetary constraints in case of medical emergencies. Countries where citizens are happy with the government often lead to improved living conditions and economic growth.

Lastly, new and advanced treatments could be expensive in countries that provide free health care but I believe it is still an improvement over countries where money dictates the level of medical care one can receive.

In conclusion, free health care is one of the major contributors to a healthy and happy country, which in turn translates into a stronger, prosperous and developed nation. Therefore, I completely agree with the school of thought that a county should provide at least the bare minimum of medical care to her citizens.