Every third person in the world is obese, says a study. What do you think causes obesity, and what are the consequences of it? In your opinion, in what way can it be overcome?

Of late, it has been noticed that people are putting on too much of weight all over the world. This is quite alarming as it leads to many physical and mental ailments. Wrong dietary habits and lack of physical movements lead to weight gain. However, the silver lining is that the situation can be combated by adopting a few life-style changes.

The primary factor which leads to excess of weight is wrong eating habits. People consume wrong food at the wrong time, sometimes in excess quantity. Vary often, we settle for fast food with more calories and less nutrients. Even children prefer these types of junk food as their palates get used to their taste. Too much of carbohydrates, oil and sweet, if not used by the body, will result in piling up calories that turn to fat.

Over dependency on technology is another factor that leads to life style problems like weight gain. Unfortunately, the source of our income and entertainment promotes sedentary life style. As a result, outdoor activities and games have reduced to a minimum. This lack of physical exercise prevents burning of calories which settle as adipose tissue.

However, it is reassuring to note that a few changes in the way we live, can remedy the weight gain. One should make an informed decision whether to eat nutritious food or junk food. Physical movement is another aspect that can keep the body fit and fine. Apart from opting for regular exercise regime, one should walk or bicycle and take staircase instead of lift. Also, cultivating an outdoor activity will ensure a healthy body by keeping diseases at bay.

To conclude, although overweight or obesity is a major threat to healthy life the world over, preventive measures can be adopted to bring the problem under control. In other words, if we take adequate care of our body, we can lead a healthier and happier life.